fbpx
Couleur
C C C C C
Texte
T T
Skip To Content

Syndrome d’Usher

Survol

Le syndrome d’Usher est une maladie génétique caractérisée par la perte de la vision et de l’audition. C’est la cause la plus commune de cécité associée à la surdité, soit 50 % des cas. Elle touche entre 4 et 17 personnes sur 100 000 [1]. Nommé d’après Charles Usher, un ophtalmologue écossais ayant été le premier à décrire précisément la pathologie de la maladie, le syndrome est caractérisé par une rétinite pigmentaire (RP) conduisant à une perte progressive de la vision, associée à des anomalies de l’oreille interne causant la perte de l’audition. Ces anomalies sont des lésions des cellules réceptrices (ou ciliées), conduisant à ce que l’on appelle une perte auditive « neurosensorielle ». La cochlée, située dans l’oreille interne, perd son aptitude à détecter les sons et à envoyer les informations appropriées au cerveau.

La perte de vision suit un schéma semblable à la perte auditive chez les personnes atteintes du syndrome d’Usher : comme c’est le cas pour certaines formes de RP, les cellules photoréceptrices meurent graduellement et ne sont plus en mesure d’envoyer efficacement l’information visuelle au cerveau. Les photorécepteurs en forme de bâtonnets sont généralement les premiers affectés, ce qui entraîne une perte de la vision périphérique, et éventuellement la perte des photorécepteurs en forme de cône responsables de la vision centrale et de la haute acuité visuelle. Les patients décrivent souvent le processus comme une vision étroite qui s’amenuise peu à peu.

On recense trois types du syndrome d’Usher, le type 1 étant le plus sévère et le type 3 le moins sévère (une description des symptômes par type se trouve dans la section « Symptômes et diagnostics » ci-après). Les mutations dans au moins six gènes peuvent mener au syndrome d’Usher de type 1, les plus communs étant les gènes MYO7A et CDH23; des mutations dans au moins trois gènes ont été observées pour le type 2, USH2A étant le plus commun; des mutations dans le gène CLRN1 se traduisent par le type 3 [2]. Dans tous les cas, les mutations empêchent la production de protéines essentielles au développement et au fonctionnement des cellules qui communiquent l’information éventuellement décodée par le cerveau, soit les cellules ciliées et les photorécepteurs pour l’audition et la vision respectivement.

Le contenu de cette page a été rédigé par les Drs Chad Andrews et Mary Sunderland. Il a été mis à jour le 23 août 2018. Une version antérieure du document a été approuvée par les Drs Patrick Yang et Bill Stell.

Unissons nos forces

Découvrez comment votre soutien peut contribuer à tracer un avenir sans cécité! Soyez informé en exclusivité des dernières percées de la recherche en santé de la vision et des événements dans votre région en vous abonnant à notre infolettre.

fbpx
Colour
C C C C C
Text
T T
Skip To Content

Usher Syndrome

Print Page

Overview

Usher syndrome is a genetic disorder characterised by the loss of both hearing and vision. It is the most common form of inherited deaf-blindness, accounting for approximately 50% of such cases and affecting somewhere between 4 to 17 out of every 100,000 individuals.[1] Named after Charles Usher, the Scottish ophthalmologist who first examined the disease’s pathology in detail, the syndrome results from a combination of retinitis pigmentosa (RP), which leads to gradual vision loss, and abnormalities in the inner ear, which lead to hearing loss. The inner ear abnormalities consist of damage to the sensory receptor cells—or “hair cells”—leading to what is referred to as “sensorineural” hearing loss. The structure of the inner ear, called the cochlea, is not able to detect sound and send the appropriate information to the brain.

Vision loss takes a similar form for patients with Usher syndrome: as in other forms of RP, the photoreceptor cells gradually die off and are no longer able to effectively send visual information to the brain. The rod photoreceptors typically die off first, resulting in a loss of the peripheral vision they are responsible for; this leads eventually to the loss of cone photoreceptors, which are responsible for central, high-acuity vision. The experience of vision loss for patients is often described as a progressively worsening form of tunnel vision.

The disease is subdivided into three types, with type 1 being the most severe and type 3 being least—a breakdown of symptoms associated with each type is provided below under “Symptoms and Diagnosis.” Mutations in at least six genes can lead to Usher syndrome type 1 (the most common being the genes MYO7A and CDH23); mutations in at least three genes can lead to type 2 (USH2A is the most common); and mutations in the CLRN1 gene leads to type 3.[2] In all cases, the mutations obstruct the production of proteins that are central to the development and function of cells that communicate information to the brain: in the case of hearing, hair cells, and in the case of sight, photoreceptors.

Content on this page was written by Dr. Chad Andrews and Dr. Mary Sunderland, and was most recently updated on August 23, 2018. An earlier version of the content was approved by Dr. Patrick Yang and Dr. Bill Stell.

Tell Us What it’s Like to Live With Usher Syndrome

Fighting Blindness Canada is undertaking a study about how Usher syndrome affects peoples’ daily lives. Share your experience and support our efforts to give Canadians access to the latest treatments for Usher syndrome by filling out the survey below.

SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE

Do you need assistance navigating our educational resources? Contact our Health Information Officer by calling 1-888-626-2995 or emailing healthinfo@fightingblindness.ca.

Join the Fight!

Learn how your support is helping to bring a future without blindness into focus! Be the first to learn about the latest breakthroughs in vision research and events in your community by subscribing to our eNews.

I have read and accepted the privacy policy