fbpx
Couleur
C C C C C
Texte
T T
Skip To Content

Uvéite

Survol

L’uvéite est une maladie inflammatoire qui endommage l’œil. Touchant différentes parties de l’œil, dont le cristallin, la rétine, le nerf optique, le corps vitré et l’uvée, qui elle est formée par l’iris, le corps ciliaire et la choroïde, l’uvéite est surtout diagnostiquée chez les personnes âgées de 20 à 50 ans, même si elle peut survenir à tout âge. L’uvéite est l’une des principales causes de la perte de vision chez les jeunes adultes et entraîne la cécité au sens de la loi dans environ 20 % des cas.

Chaque année, environ 2 % de la population reçoit un diagnostic d’uvéite, une maladie protéiforme qui peut être d’origine infectieuse ou non infectieuse. Votre ophtalmologiste posera un diagnostic plus précis selon la partie de votre œil touchée par la maladie.

L’uvéite peut se développer très rapidement, dans un œil ou dans les deux yeux.

• Sensibilité à la lumière
• Perception de lumières clignotantes
• Apparition de taches sombres (corps flottants)
• Douleur ou rougeur oculaire
• Vision trouble ou baisse de la vision
• Rétrécissement des pupilles
• Larmoiements

Si vous présentez l’un ou l’autre de ces symptômes, veuillez consulter votre ophtalmologiste.

L’uvéite antérieure est la forme la plus courante d’uvéite; elle est largement observée chez les jeunes et les personnes d’âge moyen. Elle cause de la rougeur et de la douleur dans l’œil, une vision trouble, une sensibilité à la lumière et un rétrécissement des pupilles. Touchant l’avant de l’œil, l’uvéite antérieure est souvent associée à d’autres maladies inflammatoires et infectieuses. On la traite principalement au moyen de gouttes ophtalmiques.

L’uvéite intermédiaire, qui touche le corps vitré, survient principalement chez les jeunes adultes. Généralement indolore, elle entraîne néanmoins une vision trouble et l’apparition de corps flottants. Elle est souvent associée à d’autres maladies.

L’uvéite postérieure est la forme la moins courante de la maladie. Elle touche l’arrière de l’œil, là où se situent la rétine et la choroïde.

Il existe quatre types de médicaments différents pour traiter l’uvéite : les cycloplégiques, les corticostéroïdes, les immunosuppresseurs et les anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS). L’objectif de ces traitements est d’éliminer l’inflammation, de diminuer la douleur, de prévenir les dommages aux tissus et de rétablir la vision. Ces traitements ont différents effets secondaires dont vous devriez discuter avec votre médecin. Faute de traitement, une uvéite peut entraîner le glaucome, des cataractes et une perte de vision permanente. Téléchargez la fiche d’information imprimable ci-dessous pour de plus amples renseignements sur les options thérapeutiques.

Fiche d’information sur l’uvéite

Unissons nos forces

Découvrez comment votre soutien peut contribuer à tracer un avenir sans cécité! Soyez informé en exclusivité des dernières percées de la recherche en santé de la vision et des événements dans votre région en vous abonnant à notre infolettre.

Colour
C C C C C
Text
T T
Skip To Content

Uveitis

Print Page

Overview

Uveitis is an inflammatory disease that damages the eye. It affects different parts of the eye, including the lens, retina, optic nerve, vitreous and the uvea, which includes the iris, ciliary body and choroid. It primarily affects people between the ages of 20 and 50, but it can occur at any age. It is a leading cause of vision loss in young adults and causes about 20 percent of legal blindness.

Each year, about 2 percent of the population is newly diagnosed with uveitis—a disease that takes various forms. It can be infectious or non-infectious. Your ophthalmologist will offer a more specific diagnosis, depending on where the disease is occurring in the eye.

Uveitis may develop quickly, affecting one or both eyes.

  • Light sensitivity
  • Flashing lights
  • Dark, floating spots (floaters)
  • Eye pain or redness
  • Blurred or decreased vision
  • Narrowing of the pupils
  • Tearing

If you experience any of these symptoms, please visit your ophthalmologist.

Anterior uveitis is the most common form, predominantly affecting young and middle-aged people. It causes eye redness and pain, blurred vision, light sensitivity and small pupils. It occurs in the front of the eye and is often associated with other inflammatory and infectious diseases. Eye drops are the main form of treatment.

Intermediate uveitis mostly affects young adults and occurs in the vitreous. Usually, it is not painful, but causes blurred vision and floaters. It is often associated with other diseases.

Posterior uveitis is the least common form of the disease. It occurs in the back of the eye, affecting the retina and the choroid.

Four different kinds of medication are used to treat uveitis: cycloplegics, corticosteroids, immunosuppressive agents, and non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs). These treatments work by eliminating inflammation, reducing pain, preventing tissue damage and restoring vision. These treatments involve different side effects, which you should discuss with your doctor. If left untreated, uveitis can cause lead to glaucoma, cataracts, and permanent vision loss. Download the printable fact sheet below for more detailed information about treatment options.

Uveitis Fact Sheet

English

Latest Uveitis News View All

Together We Will Cure Blindness
Dec 12, 2018
Together We Will Cure Blindness

Right now, over one million Canadians are living with blinding eye diseases and as vision fades, so too can hope. To date, donors of the Fighting Blindness Canada (FBC) have contributed more…

Read More
More 2 It Graphic
Nov 13, 2018
“Donors give us, and more importantly our daughter, hope.”

Guest-written by Deborah Scott. Our daughter Olivia was 5 years old when she was diagnosed with a blinding eye disease called retinitis pigmentosa (RP). It was difficult for us to comprehend what…

Read More

Join the Fight!

Learn how your support is helping to bring a future without blindness into focus! Be the first to learn about the latest breakthroughs in vision research and events in your community by subscribing to our eNews.

I have read and accepted the privacy policy