Eye on the Cure 2022

Woman Examining Sample with Microscope

Supporting Vision Researchers of Tomorrow

On November 18 2022, three teams of vision researchers battled it out for $100,000 in awards to support their research and advance their innovations. They pitched their projects to three esteemed judges and a panel of academy members.

Watch the 2022 Show

Congratulations Dr. Bob Chow & Dr. Bridget Ryan, winners of the $50,000 research to watch award.

“Now more than ever, it is so important to encourage and invest in the research of tomorrow. We are so excited to have the opportunity to spotlight and support these talented researchers as they work to develop new diagnostics and treatments for vision loss.”
– Larissa Moniz PhD, Director of Research and Mission Programs

Congratulations Dr. Anna Ells & Dr. Ellen Zhou, winners of the $30,000 Heathbridge Capital People's Choice Award.
Congratulations to Dr. Patrick Gooi & Dr. Abdullah Al-Ani, winners of the $10,000 Inspirational Research Award.

Meet the Researchers

Avis Favaro

Avis Favaro

Meet the Host

Avis Favaro, health journalist and former Medical Correspondent for CTV National News. Avis Favaro specializes in health stories that can make a difference in the lives of Canadians. Based in Toronto, Favaro is Canada’s longest serving television Medical Correspondent, having started for CTV News in 1992.

Since then she has reported on a wide variety of health issues, including medical errors, drug shortages, mental health, novel therapies for cancer, and the latest therapies for neurological diseases.

Meet the Judges

Tara James

Tara James

Chair, FBC Executive Committee; RBC Lawyer

Dr. Michael Naugle

Dr. Michael Naugle

Vice President, Optometric Partnerships, FYidoctors

Dr. Michel Cayouette

Dr. Michel Cayouette

Researcher; Chair, FBC Scientific Advisory Board; VP, Research and Academic Affairs, Institut de Recherches Cliniques de Montréal (IRCM); Professor, University of Montréal

Thank You To Our Sponsors

People’s Choice Award

Heathbridge Capital logo

Academy Night

Bochner Eye Institute Logo
Deeley Group