fbpx
Couleur
C C C C C
Texte
T T
Skip To Content

Achromatopsie

Survol

Aussi appelée « daltonisme total », l’achromatopsie est un syndrome génétique caractérisé par l’incapacité à percevoir les couleurs. Si l’expérience de perception des couleurs varie d’une personne à l’autre, nombre d’achromates ne peuvent distinguer que le blanc, le noir et les nuances de gris – ce qu’on appelle souvent l’« achromatopsie complète », par distinction avec des formes plus courantes de daltonisme impliquant un défaut de perception de certaines couleurs. D’autres personnes peuvent percevoir quelques couleurs et teintes de plus sous certaines conditions, mais leur spectre demeure limité (parfois appelé « dyschromatopsie »). D’autres encore peinent à bien voir dans la lumière vive, par exemple dehors lors d’une journée ensoleillée, ou sont extrêmement sensibles à la lumière (photophobie). Le syndrome touche environ 1 personne sur 30 000, et ses symptômes peuvent généralement être observés durant les premiers mois de vie[1].

Simulation d’une vision normale (à gauche) et d’une vision complètement achromatique (à droite). Source : achromatopsia.info.

La génétique de l’achromatopsie est variée, impliquant l’un des cinq gènes suivants : les gènes CNGA3 et CNGB3 sont associés à la grande majorité des cas, et les gènes GNAT2PDE6C et PDE6H sont en cause dans les autres. Une détérioration graduelle des photorécepteurs en cônes et en bâtonnets de la rétine est le mécanisme sous-jacent de la perte de vision dans la rétinite pigmentaire (RP) et des maladies similaires de la rétine. Dans l’achromatopsie, ce sont principalement les photorécepteurs coniques qui sont atteints, leur capacité à transmettre l’information visuelle au cerveau étant alors perturbée. Comme les cônes sont responsables de la perception des couleurs, leur réduction ou leur perte totale a un effet prévisible : la perte de perception des couleurs. Aussi, comme les photorécepteurs en cônes sont également responsables de la vision centrale et de la perception des menus détails, de nombreux achromates vivent aussi avec un déficit grave de vision centrale. Chez les patients ayant une achromatopsie totale, tous les photorécepteurs en cônes sont morts par suite de la mutation.

Le terme anglais « achromatopsia » a été popularisé après la publication, en 1997, de l’ouvrage The Island of the Colorblind d’Oliver Sacks, un récit de son passage au sein de la communauté des « achromatopes » sur Pingelap, une île du Pacifique Sud. Sacks relate dans le détail les récits de vision achromatopsique des habitants de Pingelap.

Le contenu de cette page a été rédigé par les Drs Chad Andrews et Mary Sunderland, et a été mis à jour le 23 août 2018.

Unissons nos forces

Découvrez comment votre soutien peut contribuer à tracer un avenir sans cécité! Soyez informé en exclusivité des dernières percées de la recherche en santé de la vision et des événements dans votre région en vous abonnant à notre infolettre.

fbpx
Colour
C C C C C
Text
T T
Skip To Content

Achromatopsia

Print Page

Overview

Also known as “total colour blindness,” achromatopsia (ACHM) is a genetic syndrome characterized by the inability to perceive colour. Though experiences of colour sensations vary, many with the condition can only see black, white, and shades of grey—this is often called “complete achromatopsia,” and differs from the more common forms of colour blindness involving difficulty distinguishing between certain colours. Others can see some additional colours and shades under certain conditions but still within a limited spectrum (sometimes called “dyschromatopsia”), and still others have difficulty seeing clearly in high-light environments—outside during a sunny day, for instance—or are extremely sensitive to such light (photophobia). The syndrome affects approximately 1 in 30,000 people, and its symptoms are usually noticed during the first few months of life.[1]

An image simulating the contrast between the experience of full colour, on the left, and what someone with complete achromatopsia may see, on the right. Image taken from achromatopsia.info.

The genetics of achromatopsia are varied, involving one of five genes: CNGA3 and CNGB3 are associated with the vast majority of cases, and the genes GNAT2PDE6C, and PDE6H underlie the rest. A gradual deterioration of the retina’s cone and rod photoreceptors is the mechanism underlying vision loss in retinitis pigmentosa (RP) and similar retinal diseases. With achromatopsia, it is primarily the cone photoreceptors that are affected, disrupting their ability to transmit visual information to the brain. Since it is the cones that are responsible for colour vision, their reduction or complete loss has the predictable effect: a loss of the ability to perceive colour. Cone photoreceptors are responsible for central, high-acuity vision as well, which is why many with the disorder live with a severe impairment of central vision. In patients with complete achromatopsia, all cone photoreceptors have died as a result of the mutation.

The term “achromatopsia” became widely-used after the publication of Oliver Sacks’ 1997 book The Island of the Colorblind, where he recounts his time living among a community of achromatopes inhabiting the island of Pingelap in the South Pacific. Sacks describes in detail the accounts of achromatopic vision provided by the Pingelapese.

Content on this page was written by Dr. Chad Andrews and Dr. Mary Sunderland, and was most recently updated on August 23, 2018.

Tell Us What it’s Like to Live With Achromatopsia

Fighting Blindness Canada is undertaking a study about how achromatopsia affects peoples’ daily lives. Share your experience and support our efforts to give Canadians access to the latest treatments for achromatopsia by filling out the survey below.

SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE

Do you need assistance navigating our educational resources? Contact our Health Information Officer by calling 1-888-626-2995 or emailing healthinfo@fightingblindness.ca.

Join the Fight!

Learn how your support is helping to bring a future without blindness into focus! Be the first to learn about the latest breakthroughs in vision research and events in your community by subscribing to our eNews.

I have read and accepted the privacy policy