fbpx
Couleur
C C C C C
Texte
T T
Skip To Content

Maladie de Stargardt

Survol

La maladie de Stargardt est une affection génétique de la macula, petite région centrale de la rétine, qui entraîne une baisse progressive de l’acuité visuelle centrale au fil du temps. La perte de vision commence généralement durant l’enfance ou l’adolescence, et les symptômes s’apparentent à ceux de la dégénérescence maculaire liée à l’âge (DMLA); en fait, comme ses symptômes se manifestent dès le plus jeune âge, la maladie de Stargardt est parfois appelée « dégénérescence maculaire juvénile ». Décrite pour la première fois par l’ophtalmologiste allemand Karl Stargardt au début du 20e siècle, la maladie touche 1 personne sur 8000 à 10 000. [1]

La mutation du gène ABCA4 est le plus souvent à l’origine de la maladie, bien que de rares patients soient porteurs d’une mutation du gène ELOVL4. Ces gènes sont nécessaires à la fabrication d’importantes protéines contribuant à la phototransduction, soit le processus de conversion de la lumière en signaux électriques qui seront ensuite interprétés par le cerveau. En cas de mutation de l’ABCA4, la protéine associée ne parvient plus à empêcher les dépôts de lipofuscine, une substance toxique, dans les cellules de l’épithélium pigmentaire rétinien (EPR). La lipofuscine, résidu naturel de la phototransduction, s’accumule avec le temps; si elle n’est pas évacuée, les cellules de l’EPR ne sont alors plus en mesure de jouer leur rôle nourricier pour les cellules réceptrices de la rétine (photorécepteurs), lesquelles absorbent la lumière et constituent le mécanisme central de la phototransduction. Les cônes sont les principaux photorécepteurs touchés par la maladie. Ainsi, comme ils sont situés dans la macula, la vision fovéale se détériore tandis que la vision périphérique demeure, dans bien des cas, intacte.

Chez les rares patients porteurs d’une mutation du gène ELOVL4, des dépôts de protéines interfèrent avec les photorécepteurs, entraînant la mort progressive de ces cellules et une perte graduelle de la vision fovéale.

Le contenu de cette page a été rédigé par les Drs Chad Andrews et Mary Sunderland. Il a été mis à jour le 23 août 2018. La Dre Nupura Bakshi en avait approuvé une version antérieure.

Unissons nos forces

Découvrez comment votre soutien peut contribuer à tracer un avenir sans cécité! Soyez informé en exclusivité des dernières percées de la recherche en santé de la vision et des événements dans votre région en vous abonnant à notre infolettre.

Colour
C C C C C
Text
T T
Skip To Content

Stargardt Disease

Print Page

Overview

Stargardt disease is a genetic disorder that affects the macula, the small, central portion of the retina, leading to a progressive blurring of central vision over time. Vision loss typically begins during childhood or adolescence, with symptoms similar to age-related macular degeneration (AMD); in fact, since the symptoms begin at a younger age, Stargardt disease is sometimes called “juvenile macular degeneration.” Taking its name from Karl Stargardt, the German ophthalmologist who described the disease in the early twentieth century, the disorder affects somewhere between 1 in 8000 to 1 in 10,000 individuals.[1]

In most cases of the disease, the gene ABCA4 is mutated, while in a minority of cases it is the gene ELOVL4. Both are responsible for making important proteins that play a role in phototransduction, the process whereby incoming light is converted into electrical signals that are eventually interpreted by the brain. When ABCA4 is mutated, the protein it controls is no longer able to effectively remove a toxic substance called lipofuscin from the retinal pigment epithelial (RPE) cells. Lipofuscin builds up over time and is a natural by-product of phototransduction; when it is not cleared from the RPE cells, those cells are no longer able to provide support and nourishment to the photoreceptors cells, which absorb light and are the central mechanism of phototransduction. It is primarily the cone photoreceptors that are affected, and since these are housed in the macula, central vision deteriorates while peripheral vision remains, in many cases, unaffected.

In the minority of patients with a mutated ELOVL4 gene, clumps of proteins develop and interfere with the photoreceptors, leading to the gradual death of those cells and a progressive loss of central vision.

Content on this page was written by Dr. Chad Andrews and Dr. Mary Sunderland, and was most recently updated on August 23, 2018. An earlier version of the content was approved by Dr. Nupura Bakshi.

tELL uS wHAT IT’S lIKE TO lIVE wITH Stargardt Disease

Fill out the survey below to share your experience.

FILL OUT OUR SURVEY

Do you need assistance navigating our educational resources? Contact our Health Information Officer by calling 416.360.4200 ext. 275 or emailing healthinfo@fightingblindness.ca.

Join the Fight!

Learn how your support is helping to bring a future without blindness into focus! Be the first to learn about the latest breakthroughs in vision research and events in your community by subscribing to our e-newsletter that lands in inboxes the beginning of each month.

I have read and accepted the privacy policy