fbpx
Couleur
C C C C C
Texte
T T
Skip To Content

Rétinoschisis lié à l’X

Survol

Le rétinoschisis lié à l’X est une maladie génétique se traduisant par une perte de la vision, dont les premiers signes apparaissent durant la petite enfance (la maladie porte parfois le nom de « rétinoschisis juvénile » en raison de sa survenue précoce). Comme pour d’autres maladies liées au chromosome X, par exemple la choroïdérémie, cette affection touche presque exclusivement les hommes. Dans la majorité des cas, la maladie est due à une mutation du gène RS1, situé sur le chromosome X. Étant donné que les hommes possèdent généralement deux types de chromosomes (XY), il leur suffit d’une mutation du RS1 pour développer la maladie. Les femmes possèdent deux chromosomes identiques (XX) et disposent donc d’une seconde version du RS1 sur le chromosome supplémentaire. Les deux versions du gène doivent muter pour que la maladie se déclare chez les femmes, ce qui s’avère beaucoup plus rare. Selon le National Institutes of Health, le rétinoschisis lié à l’X touche environ 1 homme sur 5000 à 25 000 dans le monde. [1]

Le gène RS1 est responsable de la fabrication de la rétinoschisine, une protéine essentielle à la santé et au bon fonctionnement de la rétine, le tissu photosensible tapissant le fond de l’œil. Faute d’une quantité suffisante de rétinoschisine, de petites lésions ou déchirures apparaissent dans la macula ou le long des contours extérieurs de la rétine (« rétinoschisis » signifie « décollement de la rétine »), adoptant souvent l’aspect d’une roue ou de rayons et pouvant causer un épaississement anormal de la rétine. Des déchirures dans la macula, la région centrale de la rétine, entraînent une détérioration de la vision fovéale et détaillée. Des déchirures le long des contours de la rétine entraînent quant à elles une détérioration de la vision périphérique. Environ la moitié des patients souffrant de rétinoschisis lié à l’X subissent une perte de la vision fovéale, l’autre moitié témoignant d’une perte de la vision périphérique.

De rares personnes atteintes de la maladie ne sont pas porteuses d’une mutation du gène RS1; chez elles, la cause génétique de la maladie demeure inconnue. Des recherches visant à déterminer les facteurs génétiques responsables sont en cours.

[1] https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/condition/x-linked-juvenile-retinoschisis#statistics

Le contenu de cette page a été rédigé par le Dr Chad Andrews et la Dre Mary Sunderland, et mis à jour le 23 août 2018. Le Dr Kevin Gregory-Evans en avait approuvé une version antérieure.

Unissons nos forces

Découvrez comment votre soutien peut contribuer à tracer un avenir sans cécité! Soyez informé en exclusivité des dernières percées de la recherche en santé de la vision et des événements dans votre région en vous abonnant à notre infolettre.

fbpx
Colour
C C C C C
Text
T T
Skip To Content

X-Linked Retinoschisis

Print Page

Overview

X-linked retinoschisis (XLRS) is a genetic disorder that causes vision loss and begins in early childhood—the disease is sometimes called “juvenile retinoschisis” due to its early onset. As with other X-linked disorders, such as choroideremia, the condition occurs almost exclusively in males. Most cases of the disease involve a mutation of the RS1 gene, which is located on the X chromosome, and since males generally have two different kinds of chromosomes (XY), a single mutation of RS1 will lead to the disease. Females have two of the same kind of chromosome (XX), and as a result a spare version of RS1 on the additional X chromosome. In women, then, both copies of the gene must be mutated for the disease to manifest, which is significantly less likely. According to the National Institutes of Health, X-linked retinoschisis affects approximately 1 in 5000 to 1 in 25,000 men globally.[1]

The RS1 gene is responsible for the production of a protein called retinoschisin, which plays an important role in the health and functionality of the retina, the light-sensitive tissue at the back of the eye. Without enough retinoschisin, small splits or tears appear in the macula or along the outer edges of the retina (“retinoschisis” translates to “splitting of the retina”), often forming a wheel or spoke-like pattern that can make the retina abnormally thick. If tears appear in the macula, the central portion of the retina, central and high-acuity vision are impaired. If tears appear along the edges of the retina, on the other hand, peripheral vision is affected. Approximately half of those with X-linked retinoschisis experience a loss of central vision, the other half a loss of peripheral vision.

A minority of individuals with the disease do not have a mutated RS1 gene; for them, the genetic cause of the disorder is unknown. Work is underway to determine what genetic factors are at play in these cases.

Content on this page was written by Dr. Chad Andrews and Dr. Mary Sunderland, and was most recently updated on August 23, 2018. An earlier version of the content was approved by Dr. Kevin Gregory-Evans.

Tell Us What it’s Like to Live With X-linked retinoschisis

Fighting Blindness Canada is undertaking a study about how X-linked retinoschisis affects peoples’ daily lives. Share your experience and support our efforts to give Canadians access to the latest treatments for X-linked retinoschisis by filling out the survey below.

SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE

Do you need assistance navigating our educational resources? Contact our Health Information Officer by calling 1-888-626-2995 or emailing healthinfo@fightingblindness.ca.

Join the Fight!

Learn how your support is helping to bring a future without blindness into focus! Be the first to learn about the latest breakthroughs in vision research and events in your community by subscribing to our eNews.

I have read and accepted the privacy policy